Mount Kota Kinabalu, Sabah


Mount KK, Sabah

You know you really been to Sabah when you have climb the ever magnificent MOUNT KOTA KINABALU!

I as a Sabahan never get the climb until Wendy asked me Hey have you climb Mount KK before? Cause there is a gang of us wanted to climb.

And I end up climbing with them out of nowhere haha. Surprisingly my parents very pleasingly(for the first time) SAY YES!

It was hard really. Imagining nonstop moving from 10am until 5pm. We chose Laban Rata road whereby it is much shorter distance and there are manmade staircase plus it is much more safer for beginner according to my daddy.

Different fee for Sabahan and the rest of the people of the states. And it is DOUBLE if you are from outside states. Sabahan RM200+ others RM400+. I initially thought that it would cost so much expensive but yea the price is really really amazingly worth it.

My advice, trained up your stamina and the strength of your leg muscles.

You keep on climbing and hiking until you see the rest house 3000m above sea water. You need to keep hiking before 5pm better because the sky is getting darker real fast and you wont be able to see anything and ITS COLD OUTSIDE! My friend with super thick sweater also feel colder and colder each step.

The real challenge starts on the next morning, whereby there is no manmade staircase. Only ropes. And imagine yourself start to hike to the peak at 2am, pitch black, super cold, thin air. THAT’S WHY IT IS THE REAL CHALLENGE.

I am lucky because I am literally been pulled up by my super strong tour guide. Imagine he doesn’t need any gloves or thick sweater (I am stuffing myself with anything and filled myself until I am literally like a big fat fur ball). I really cannot stand coldness and I am sucking all air that is around me( its really cold up there, there is even ice)

But everything worth it, because the moment you see the first shaft of sunlight at the peak of the mountain( I am few ten meters behind the peak) and its really pretty. I CAN NOT DESCRIBE IT HERE.

The suffering part comes right after when you go down. YOUR LEG WILL ACHE LIKE HECK.

I will definitely go up again. BEFORE 21. HOPEFULLY.

66535_4744845068961_924727945_n
Owned by Sutera Harbour. And after long hiking during the first day, people are awarded buffet for their following dinner, supper, breakfast, morning tea, lunch break and so on.
View of Mount KK underneath it.
View of Mount KK underneath it.
You think is only manmade stairs? See this
You think is only manmade stairs? See this
How steep is that!
How steep is that!
Another resthouse in Laban Rata
Another resthouse in Laban Rata
My coursemates said, if Cheryl can climb mount kk, we definitely can! WTH
My coursemates said, if Cheryl can climb mount kk, we definitely can! WTH
You will never know how high you had hiked until the day had dawned.
You will never know how high you had hiked until the day had dawned.
Leave a Reply

